The Tale of Coven’s End – A Short Explanation of my Series’ Story

This is not really a blog post in the sense of what I normally write. It is a short introduction to my series, complete with its own fairy tale.

I am always afraid to be regarded as already being published. Posting an excerpt of my first chapter seems a little dangerous to me, so I decided to write a short fairy tale about the origin of my series’ little village called Coven’s End. It probably won’t ever appear in the story, as the level is already too high for my audience. This is not how I normally write, in all honesty. Just to be clear, my series concerns a cursed village, where portals to other worlds keep popping up. The main characters have to deal with all of these strange occurrences, until they figure out what causes all of them.

“Once upon a time, wise men and women ruled over these lands. They knew about the power of nature and spirits. They used that knowledge to create a better world. However, their own people started mistrusting them. They did not understand the magic, so it frightened them. Eventually, they were so scared that they drove off the wise ones. Angered, the wise people decided to flee and come together where no one could find them, so that they could use their powers in secret. They called these groups ‘covens’. Still, no matter how hard they tried, they were found every time. They had no place to go. Their last gathering was here, in these woods, where they decided that the people of this country did not deserve them. After all, they were called ‘witches’ now. When their attackers approached them during their last ceremony, the witches cursed them, their families and this entire village. Right after, they disappeared. That was the end of the coven of Coven’s End – and the reason for every single bad thing happening in this village. The power of the witches is still all around us.”

Now, I have a question: is it really that dangerous to post a small excerpt from an actual chapter?

3 thoughts on “The Tale of Coven’s End – A Short Explanation of my Series’ Story

  1. I have been told that obscurity is always a bigger threat than piracy… HBO have even described having the most pirated show in the world as “better than a Grammy” or whatever the award is. Not that you are very likely to get plaigarised. Only you can write your story the way it should be done.

    • It is not that I am afraid of being plagiarised, though; it’s that I’ve heard that publishers refuse to even look at anything that’s ever been published (partially or entirely) before. As far as I know, putting something online is regarded as publishing. I don’t think anyone would want to plagiarise my story idea; the idea itself is not all that unique. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

