Why I – excuse me – suck at grammar

Today I had to take an exam on the English grammar, consisting of multiple choice and grammar improvement questions. This might seem crazy for someone aspiring to become a writer in the English language, but I have a feeling that this test did not go well. I suck at grammar – or most precisely, at its rules.

The past participle and the gerund are about the same. The epistemic and the deontic modal sound the same – but they are not, because right now I’m looking them up at Wikipedia. Thankfully I am able to distinguish the present perfect continuous and the present continuous.

While I love making posts about the rules of writing, I am not the kind of person that typically sticks to these rules. Whatever I do is based on whatever feels right. Thus, whenever I write in English, I go with whatever seems fitting. However, that is sadly not the way exams work. As a student, I am supposed to know the exact rules, and not just be able to use them. I love writing. I love studying English. I do not love studying an excessive amount of rules that nobody has ever heard of. Sadly, I should have seen this coming. It is my own fault to choose to study a subject like this. Let’s just hope I did not fail the exam.

4 thoughts on “Why I – excuse me – suck at grammar

  1. I love your title. And I know absolutely what you mean – I finished my studies a few years ago, and those English grammar modules were always the most ‘structured’. Very interesting – if somewhat inflexible, perhaps. Good luck for your exam!

  2. Good luck! I have studied English and Creative Writing for over half my life and still suck at grammar. Thank goodness for computer editing software! It saves my novels!

Leave a Reply

